Gwalia Singers

Gwalia logo
Cantorion Gwalia



The Gwalia Singers have made a number of recordings over the years. The latest recording, A New Dawn, is available on CD (£10.00)


1.  Cwm Rhonda
2.  Benedictus
3.  LetAll Men Sing

4.  Exodus Song
5.  Light A Candle
6.  I'm Gona Walk

7.  The Lost Chord

8.  Hallellujah
9.  Seize The Day from 'Newsies'

10. You Raise Me Up
11. The Longest Time
12. Llanfair
13. Bring Him Home

14. American Trilogy

For ordering details, please contact the choir's secretary (details on the 'Contact' page).



Before that we recorded Forty Years On, is available on CD (£10.00)


  1. African Prayer
  2. Cantique de Jean Racine
  3. What Shall We Do With The Drunken Sailor?
  4. The Water Is Wide
  5. Adiemus
  6. The Drummer And The Cook
  7. Calon Lan
  8. Treasure The Life
  9. Cole Porter Medley
  10. The Rose
  11. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  12. All You Were And All You Are
  13. Angels

  14. Bring Him Home
  15. Alexander's Ragtime Band


Samples can be heard by clicking on tracks 4 and/or 7.

For ordering details, please contact the choir's secretary (details on the 'Contact' page).



Our previous recording, A Lighter Shade of Blue, is also still available on both CD (£10.00) and cassette (£6.00).


A Lighter shade of blue  1. When The Saints Go Marching In
  2. A Smuggler's Song
  3. Sunrise, Sunset
  4. Vive L'Amour
  5. Hafan Gobaith
  6. Ar Hyd Y Nos
  7. Nirvana
  8. Gwahoddiad
  9. Gospel Train
  10. Sospan Fach
  11. Abba Medley
  12. Sentimental Journey
  13. Rhythm Of Life
  14. Tydi A Roddaist


Samples can be heard by clicking on tracks 1 and/or 5.



Out of the Blue was issued on vinyl and cassette in 1990.


 Side 1

 1. What a Wonderful World
 2. Danny Boy
 3. Scarborough Fair
 4. Sunrise, Sunset
 5. Autumn Leaves
 6. Let's Do It

 Side 2

 1. Fanfare
 2. Sunset Poem
 3. Viva Tutti
 4. Zara
 5. Dana Dana
 6. The Drummer and the Cook
 7. Amen

 8. By Babylon's Wave



   Cassette cover



A 7" single was released in 1983 in time for Christmas - When a Child is Born b/w White Christmas. This was recorded with Olchfa School Big Band and Choir, with pupil Sarah Harries performing the narration.




 Side One
 When a Child is Born

 Side Two
 White Christmas









An LP, simply titled The Gwalia Singers, Swansea, was recorded in 1982 and released on the Black Mountain Records label.


Side 1

1. Bryn Myrddin
2. Yesterday
3. Feasting I Watch
4. You Are the New Day
5. Three Hungarian Folk Songs
6. Y Deryn Pur
7. Love Could I only tell Thee

Side 2

1. There is nothin' like a Dame
2. Some Enchanted Evening
3. Close Thine Eyes
4. Gloria (Mozart's 12th Mass)
5. Cavatina
6. Begin the Beguine
7. Weinland


The sleeve notes are as follows:



Entertainment combined with quality has been the hallmark of the Gwalia Singers since their formation in 1966.


This record captures the spirit of the choir and abounds with the variety and feeling which has thrilled both national and international audiences. The spirit of friendship and belonging is vividly portrayed in the choir's performances and the old adage of "small is beautiful" is well borne out in this delightful record.


As well as being one of the busiest choirs in the Principality, the Gwalia Singers are considered amongst the best in their class by many of the experts throughout Wales. This opinion is reflected by the fact that they have gained 8 "firsts" at major Eisteddfodau in Wales since entering the competitive field 3 years ago, including the accolade of winning the Royal National Eisteddfod in 1980 at their first appearance. They have also broadcast successfully with both BBC and ITV.


This record clearly illustrates the choir's ability to perform and entertain audiences with a superb range of varied choral items. Whilst the traditional elements of Welsh choral singing is not forgotten, with such items included as "Bryn Myrddin" and that lovely Welsh folk song "Y Deryn Pur", the choir shows its versatility with special arrangements by local musicians of the Beatles' "Yesterday" and a recent No. 1 hit "Begin the Beguine". The backing arrangements for these items shows both originality and flair.


The record is aimed at maintaining the listener's interest with such contrasting items as the exciting and challenging "Three Hungarian Folk Songs" and the peacefulness of Ieuan Rees-Davies' "Close Thine Eyes". The popular musical shows are not forgotten with delightful arrangements of "Some Enchanted Evening" and "There is nothin' like a Dame" from "South Pacific", whilst the atmosphere of the choir's recent concert tour of Mannheim, West Germany is recaptured with the lilting German song "Weinland".


We are certain that the listener will be captivated by not only the quality of the choral singing but, by the firm belief within the choir, that the most important consideration for any form of entertainment is to "entertain".




Stop the Cavalry was written by Jona Lewie and his version was recorded for Stiff Records in 1980. In 1981, the Gwalia Singers teamed up with the Cory Band to record their version, which was also released by Stiff Records. The b side was a version of Paul Anka's song, The Longest Day.




 Side 1
 Stop the Cavalry

 Side 2
 The Longest Day